Hi everyone, new to the forum

DeesCats

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
My name is Dee and I've been checking out the forum for a couple months now and it looks like a great community for caring for the cats in our lives.

I've had at least one cat in my 40 years of keeping them and couldn't imagine not having one as they are a joy as well as tribulation sometimes.

Currently I have 2 cats, both were visiting my outdoor cat feeding station for the neighborhood feral/strays for a number of months before they showed any interest in being friendly. I was able to find a local TNR group that gives assistance in low cost spay/neuter fees and was able to trap 4 cats over the course of 2 months, two were neutered, one was spayed and the last cat had already been a neutered and ear tipped TNR cat.

Unfortunately at the time, I was dealing with elderly cats and wasn't able to 'adopt' any of them. Sadly I lost my last cat Gracie when she was 20 years old due a tumor near her esophagus in October of 2022.

In November of 2022 my neighbor mentioned she was seeing one of 'my' feral strays in her horse barn and he was showing less fear of humans so she agreed to get him in my large cat carrier and I brought him home around Thanksgiving. I kept him in a large dog crate in a separate room where he could still see us and get used to being indoors. His name is Long Legs, a brown based Tabby and was the neutered TNR cat that I had previously caught in the trap.

Long Legs is the sweetest cat, loves to be held and cuddled and took to sleeping with me in bed. He did great at the vet, got his shots and blood work done and is doing great. He is FIV+ but the vet said it shouldn't be any issues for awhile as she also has FIV+ cats. He's around 2 years old according to the vet.