Three Year Weight Loss

catluvrr

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
My 11 yr old cat has been losing weight for three years. Lots of trips to the vet for diarrhea and occasional vomiting. Injections of cerenia and centrine seemed to help. Still my cat has kept losing weight. All the blood tests came back normal. Now I'm wondering if it could be IBD or cancer? My cat is still playful with energy so I'm wondering if it could be cancer for three years? Or something else. The vet suggested ultrasound but it probably would not be conclusive by itself. Any suggestions or experiences?

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Is your cat eating and drinking and NOT having diarrhea or vomiting now - but is still losing weight?

It wouldn't seem to be cancer given the 3 year time line. I am not sure about the IBD, as I have no experience with that. But, I have heard others have gotten ultrasounds to help with diagnosis.

The fact that your cat is still playful is a great sign, but confusing with the weight loss.

What kind of blood tests were performed? There are ones in addition to the standard CBC that might help identify some nutritional deficiencies - for one is a full Chemistry profile. Also, did the vet check for hyperthyroidism?

denice

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Did your vet check B12 and folate levels when he did blood work. IBD cats will often have low levels because inflammation interferes with absorption. A definitive diagnosis cannot be done with an ultrasound but it is still useful. There are things that can be seen on an ultrasound that would indicate that IBD is highly likely.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

catluvrr

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
My cat is still eating but not good. The diarrhea still persists. She had two panels of blood tests but I'll double check them tomorrow for B12 and TSH. All were ok.