Stray Momma, 2 Kittens this morning - care questions

inthedeepend

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I'll try to be as brief and yet as comprehensive as possible. I have no experience with cats but have been doing a lot of reading this last week. I recently moved to an area with a feral colony that is not being taken care of properly - neighbors are feeding but held off spaying b/c they thought original owners still were "taking care" of what they thought were indoor/outdoor cats. Anyway my first priority is Mama Cat. She gave birth this morning to 5 kittens while I was sleeping; 3 didn't survive, 2 did. (don't know if stillbirth or something else) I'm hoping to take care of them until they are old enough to be weaned so I can bring them to a local org for screening, spaying, and hopefully adoption. Mama is very friendly and as an abandoned former pet, a good candidate herself. She has been trying very badly to adopt us but...we cannot. :(

I am hamstrung by finances, time, and so-so spousal support LOL. $ - I am unemployed and we currently just barely make it on my husband's pension and self-employment which fluctuates. Further, we just spent most of our limited savings on annual and emergency vet care on our dog before we discovered fatal cancer.. Time - I am job hunting and also spending time with a nearby relative. I need your help with my questions so I don't spend hours I can't afford on the internet trying to reinvent the wheel. Support - Husband is a good guy and wants to help the cat and kittens - but on his terms ( perhaps because less than 2 wks ago our dog's tooth abscess turned out to be due to a cancerous growth which went crazy aggressive after being biopsied and poor baby didn't last a week.) He does not want the cats in the house. Our garage is filled to the brim with furniture and boxes and there's no room for her there either.