Raw diet for a 3 mos senitive stomach kitten

koobe

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Dear All,

I am a newbie here and first time cat owner, I am pretty much lost in terms of diet. I have a lot of questions and I apologize if some have been answered before.

I adopted 2 kittens from a local shelter 2.5 weeks ago (Panther & Cheetah). They are estimated to be about 3 mos old now. The people from the shelter advised us to give them Royal Canin Kitten dry food along with Wellness kitten wet food. We know that they can get upset stomach if we change the brand of food, and so we bought a 20 lbs dry food (1st mistake) up front. I was told to split 1 can of Wellness between them each day.

We then found out Cheetah has very soft stool and after reading the vet records, we found out he is sensitive to Wellness and had diarrhea before when he consumes Wellness. We asked the vet in the shelter, and she told me the kittens in the shelter weren't even being fed with Wellness, they were being fed with California Natural.

So I switched Cheetah to a diet with chicken and rice only for a few days, and then slowly bring him back on dry food as supplements (he is not a big fan of dry food anyway). Then I started adding canned food to the chicken, I tried tiny bit of Wellness, then added AvoDerm. With a plan in mind to change them back to dry and wet food. Panther has been doing well with food and has been gaining weight. As of last Thursday, Panther was 3.7 lbs and Cheetah was 3.0 lbs. Cheetah is estimated to be 1 week older than Panther though.

In the process of searching for the best canned food for my kittens, I have a hard time to find the perfect canned food, and since I have been reading a lot about raw diet, I would like to give it a try. I am starting to cook the chicken less to give them a taste of raw food.