Warming Up Sub Q Fluids

homoki2002

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
With the help of this wonderful site I've been giving our baby her sub q fluids now for several months. She just got a vet visit and our vet said she was doing really well. We need to keep on the fluids but we have been using one of those neck warmer kind of things I think with little beads or something in to warm up the fluid. Put it in the microwave and then wrap it around the bag when it's done. But there is a slight odor when the bag is heating up and I think our Greta smells that because now she runs behind the couch when we heat up the bag. We haven't tried putting it in hot water as that seems kind of messy but does anyone have a better suggestion for warming up the fluid bag? Our little girl is getting very smart about hiding when she thinks we're about to do fluids. We're going to try a heating pad and see how that goes but I wondered if anyone else had some ideas.

artiemom

Artie, my Angel; a part of my heart
Top Cat
Purraise
When I was giving Artie sub-q's; I would run hot water into a 4 quart pan. I put the bag in there, with the port/line not getting wet. I let it sit in the hot water for a while.

I would wipe down the bag, run the cold fluid out of the line, and then use it...

Worked great..

Good Luck!

kittypa

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I use a heating pad. If the bag is more than half full I lay it on and fold the pad over it so it’s heating both sides of the bag. If it’s less than half full I just lay the bag on the pad. Usually the pad is set to low heat. Occasionally medium for short times.

I have heard more than once that it is ungood to use a microwave.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

homoki2002

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Thanks for all the great suggestions. We finally found the heating pad does the trick!!!

Antonio65

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise