Type Of Domestic Longhair?

spirit_guide

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello,

Newbie here! :)

My partner and I are looking to adopt a cat (pics below), as you can see he is quite the cutie and is a rather big boy for 1.5 years of age! Not that it matters, but having learned of Norwegian Forrest cats and Main Coons some time ago, I've had fad a fancy for getting one of those. I've been swayed by various people to instead get a cat that's in need of rescue or a new home.

We immediately fell for this guy when we saw his details, and it's just occurred to me he has a triangular face, the green eyes, and the right size limbs and body for his age to be mistaken for one of the forest cats. But he looks to be missing the tufts at the end of his ears and in-between his claws.

This really isn't a factor in whether we adopt this boy or not, but it's a burning question of intrigue! Do you think he looks like one of the forest cats or could he just be a large domestic longhair of no specific breed? Maybe he actually is a forest cat, or has partial genetics? What do you guys think?

Cheers!

368245_0.jpg

368246_0.jpg

368247_0.jpg

abyeb

Charlie's Purrson
Veteran
Purraise
He would be called a black and white bicolor (in the harlequin pattern) Domestic Longhair.
He is a pretty good lookalike to an NFC, so I suppose some influence is possible (those lynx tips and toe tufts are really only seen in the highest NFC pedigrees), but without papers he would still be considered a DLH. He's handsome for sure!

1CatOverTheLine

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
First off, welcome to TCS.

He's a beautiful boy indeed, and the absence of lynx tips really isn't a factor, since many Maine Coon Cats and Norwegian Forest Cats are also absent lynx tips. Here's one of the great NFCs of all time - Supreme Grand Champion Nordlys Alondite of Mythvision:

http://www5b.biglobe.ne.jp/~nordlys/titlecat2005/alon_title2.jpg