Taming a young feral for adoption

leeann77

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
This is my first attempt at taming a 6 month old feral from my woods so he can be adopted. I found a cat rescue lady that will list him on her rescue site once he’s ready. I hope I’m doing it right- last Monday I trapped and TNR’d him. Two days later I could pet him in his crate but he wouldn’t come out. Now he’s coming out more when I’m in the room and he plays like a MANIAC. At work I watch him on the camera and he’s like a regular cat, laying in the middle of the room and bouncing off the walls.
When I’m in there he’s definitely skittish but making progress.
I feel like he’s not ready to be listed until I can actually pick him up and take him to get another vaccine that he needs.
He’s getting sick of that one room but I feel like he’s made tremendous progress. Am I being impatient or too cautious?
The thought of a stranger adopting him right now makes me nervous, he would be terrified and probably too wild for an inexperienced cat person. He will hiss and growl but it’s all fake, he’s never scratched or tried to bite me. Once you push through the hissing, he’s a purring maniac and I can pet him for a long time. But only when he’s under something, not out in the middle of the room. He would need a very patient and quiet owner to give him some time.
I’d appreciate any advice, thank you!!!

fionasmom

Staff Member
Purraise