Suddenly stopped wanting to eat

meranaldar

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Not really sure why I'm posting this, just need to get it out I guess. Worried.

I've been feeding a frankrenprey diet for the last 4 months, and it has been going great. She would eat anything I gave her. And then on Sunday night suddenly she didn't want to eat.

I've been getting her to eat most of the meal by cutting it up into small chunks and hand feeding her. Sometimes once I give her a piece or two she'll eat some (cut up) on her own, though rarely finishes the meal this way, sometimes I have to hand feed her every piece, and sometimes she simply refuses, only eating a little. Which she has never done previously, never leaving a meal unfinished.

She has seemed a bit subdued, and generally just stays laying on my bed even when I'm getting her food, whereas usually she'll be up and waiting. A couple of times she has been around waiting for her food, and I think this looks promising... then she'll look at the food, and walk away, or just sit there in front of it.

I took her to the vet Wednesday night, and they couldn't see anything obviously wrong with her. Though there was one surprising thing. My last vet visit 4 months ago, the vet (different one than I saw Wednesday) said she had a 'little extra padding', so I've been trying to get her to lose a little on the raw diet, and I had been sure she had. She looks to me like she has slimmed down a bit, and I was thinking I probably don't want her to lose much more, I thought she was looking quite good now. So I was very surprised when the scales said she had gained a little weight. This vet also said she looked to be a good weight for her size (6kg, or 13.2 pounds).