Stopped eating - no real medical cause - other cat passed four weeks ago

Status
Not open for further replies.

Snootypuss

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
this is my first time posting, but i'm desperate and hoping someone can share experiences or thoughts that might help.
i had two cats... four weeks ago my oldest girl passed away after months of a quickly progressing CKD... my other girl, Sommer, is an exotic shorthair and about 10 years old. they were not particularly "bonded" bffs. they tolerated each other and would sleep near each other if i was there (on the couch with me) but never on their own. they never fought but they also never purposely hung out together without me. they never really had a feeding ritual together - both free fed dry and i would separately give them wet whenever each wanted it.
a few days after my baby crossed the rainbow bridge, Sommer stopped eating dry food - her main calorie source. she kept eating her daily Churu treat mixed with lysine to help her underlying herpes/allergies and breathing (smush face common problems). i gave her some mirataz via the ear. that night she ate some dry food. but then didn't go back and eat again so again about 36 hrs later i gave mirataz again. no response. still eating at least 1/2 the Churu a day... but NO dry food. tried offering MANY other options. real tuna. real chicken. chicken broth. baby food. every kind of dry and wet food possible. she would often run over to the sound of it being poured into the bowl, sniff, then run away. continued eating at least SOME Churu. then three days ago stopped eating anything.