Sicking-up food

biscuity

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi everyone

I was a member here a while back, but re-registered because I forgot my account details.

Marmite is a beautiful & much loved British Blue shorthair neutered 12 year old girl. She has always been an indoor only cat. She came from a great cat breeder, but was the smallest kitten & the only girl in the litter. She has always had a little problem keeping down her food, but it has been under control for years. I only give her premium kibbles & fresh water with 2 or 3 little cat treats every night. I treat her indoor-only status with care, we have our playtimes, she has a multitude of scratch posts & beds. I have an interest in car behaviour. There is some stress in the house as we have a 16 year-old daughter from hell.

Marmite's food is Orijen chicken & at feeding times, I put her food into 4 separate dishes & hide them around the house. I have been doing this for several years. The purpose is to give her some interest hunting for the food instead of just plonking a dish in front of her. Also I do this because she can gulp all her food at once & be sick. When she is sick like this, she will sick up pretty well the whole lot of kibbles. I can help her with this by hiding the 4th dish very well & then helping Marmite to find the dish after ½ hour. Thereby forcing a break.