Resources for CKD Cats - Protein & Phosphorous Information on Non-Prescription Commercial Cat Food

Mac and Cats

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Hi,

I know we talk a lot about chronic kidney disease along with protein and phosphorus amounts here for cats who won't eat the prescription renal food. As we all know, it can be extremely overwhelming when your cat is diagnosed with chronic kidney disease and even more so when your precious cat won't eat the prescription food. I haven't seen a post like this before, so I hope this isn't a duplicate. I wasn't sure if I should put this in the Health or Nutrition forum, but decided maybe Health was the better option? My apologies if my thought was off base. Anyway, I thought having all of this information in one place might be helpful. Here are some resources to help you find the protein and phosphorous amounts for some commercial cat foods. This post is not intended as advice on what or what not to feed your cat. I am not an expert and I often feel like I barely understand the needs of CKD cats. So again, I will be clear, I am not offering advice on what you should or shouldn't do with your cat. This post is intended purely for informational purposes. What you choose to do with this information is up to you.

• Tanya's Comprehensive Guide to Feline Chronic Kidney Disease is a great resource and she has a good section on her website with some foods listed. This website can be overwhelming to some people (like me). If you're like me and find it overwhelming, I would recommend just reading a little bit at a time and give yourself lots of breaks. You don't have to know all of this information right now. It's ok to learn this information over time and I give you permission to take as much time as you need to learn about CKD in cats. :heartshape: