Raw Meat Vs Cooked?

Jason2321

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I'm new to making my own catfood, I'm so fed up with the BS brands I can buy locally and pretty much don't trust ANY brand anymore

Anyhows,

I've read up and still question about one thing:

To cook or not to cook,

Raw liver or cooked liver? (I'll be going chicken and rabbit) I've read a horror story about some and now makes sure she cooks the liver, I can imagine plenty of nutritional elements getting destroyed that way

Washed off chicken or slightly cook only the outside part?

Also, a quick question, when I visit my parents and look at the wet food they give their cat it has NO mention of taurine, he gets these 100g pouches of some grocery store brand, which looks rather incomplete, how much Taurine would I add to his food per pouch of 100g?

I ordered some Catz Finefood for their cat, but I'm always looking for a better food, and I feel more sure making my own, so I'll probably get him on homemade as well; but in the meantime I wanna add some supplements to her food

Thanks for all the replies!

mschauer

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
To cook or not to cook,

Raw liver or cooked liver? (I'll be going chicken and rabbit) I've read a horror story about some and now makes sure she cooks the liver, I can imagine plenty of nutritional elements getting destroyed that way
Nutrients aren't destroyed by cooking. Think about it, humans eat cooked food. If nutrients were completely destroyed by cooked how would the human race have survived? Some vitamins are degraded by cooking. You can purchase a supplement mixes for both raw and cooked foods that will ensure the food is nutritionally complete.

Personally I don't think either is necessary.

Also, a quick question, when I visit my parents and look at the wet food they give their cat it has NO mention of taurine, he gets these 100g pouches of some grocery store brand, which looks rather incomplete, how much Taurine would I add to his food per pouch of 100g?