Overgrooming / Stress / Protein Intolerance?

ritz

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Hello all. I've been feeding Ritz raw for about 13 years; she is now 15. Rotation of pork, poultry (chicken and turkey) and beef.. She periodically overgrooms, about every six months. Medication clears it up. But she has been overgrooming since March, when I started fostering four kittens. The last one got adopted late September, I personally think due to stress (I foster kittens on a regular basis). My vet believes it is a protein intolerance and recommends feeding a novel protein. Should I eliminate, say, poultry from the rotation? Feed her a novel protein; I have access to goat and lamb locally and a good pet store? Or, try Prozac? She needs to lose weight. Poop is fine, urine can smell sometimes; behavior the same. Thanks a lot.

lisahe

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hello all. I've been feeding Ritz raw for about 13 years; she is now 15. Rotation of pork, poultry (chicken and turkey) and beef.. She periodically overgrooms, about every six months. Medication clears it up. But she has been overgrooming since March, when I started fostering four kittens. The last one got adopted late September, I personally think due to stress (I foster kittens on a regular basis). My vet believes it is a protein intolerance and recommends feeding a novel protein. Should I eliminate, say, poultry from the rotation? Feed her a novel protein; I have access to goat and lamb locally and a good pet store? Or, try Prozac? She needs to lose weight. Poop is fine, urine can smell sometimes; behavior the same. Thanks a lot.
Oh, this is a tricky one. Does Ritz have any other symptoms (vomiting or diarrhea?) beyond the overgrooming? What kind of medication do you give her for the periodic overgrooming? (Of course it's hard to say if the medication is what clears it up, given that stress can pass... we used an antihistamine on an overgroomer and I'm still not convinced it was the antihistamine that cleared it up.)