Newbie here: Stray kitten showed up!

schreib69

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
We have two large cats, siblings: a tomcat and female; both basically get along with each other, but she knows who's boss, mostly. They have a semi-heated cubby in the garage for winter but garage is UNheated.

Tonight a little kitten showed up in the middle of our 80 acres of forest on our deck. Looks like just weaned, 8 weeks? weighs about a pound. I believe someone dumped it on our farm lane today, it found the house 200 yrds away, and we got it pretty quickly. Crying on our deck . . . gave it some food and beef bouilloun(sp?). Anyway, both our cats hissed at it at one point or another but don't appear inclined to attack it-- just stay away, not curious much. Their both neutured. To be sure I put the little fellow in a cat carrier and closed the wire door for the night. Read up a bit on this website how to do basic care and things for kittens; it's been 5 yrs since we got our two.

Anyway, this is Minnesota and we are into winter; soon temps will be below zero so planning on keep this guy in the garage and in the 30's. Our cats are mousers and come in during cold(<20F) winter days, outside most of the warm weather. This kitten seems to cry quite a bit but looks fine; was purring at one point. Quited down when held in my arms. Seems to be mostly happy and content in the carrier box; safe.
Questions:
-- can it use the same litter box as the big guys?
-- need kitten food and get it neutered . . . food brand for a kitten? other care suggested; it looks fine.
-- Things to look for as to concerns?

thanks!

tabbytom

Happiness is being owned by a cat
Staff Member
Mentor
Purraise
We have two large cats, siblings: a tomcat and female; both basically get along with each other, but she knows who's boss, mostly. They have a semi-heated cubby in the garage for winter but garage is UNheated.