Necessary to add organs to chub of meat?

petercotton

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I am new to the whole world of raw feeding. Recently I bought a 2lb chub of duck w/ bone (no organ meat) from my local pet store.  I requested some samples of Alnutrin supplement and they came in the mail today.  I mixed the supplement up and then added it to the meat.  Gave my kitten a quick helping and she ate it all up in no time.  It is definitely a hit with her. 

The only problem is that most of the chubs from this company (Blue Ridge Beef) do no have organ meet, and I read on here I need to add in things such as spleens, livers, hearts or pancreas to make it a complete meal for my kitten.  I am wondering if I will still need to add in these other pieces of meat since I am adding Alnutrin to it.  Also, if I do need to add in these other meats, why are they necessary?  Why would the chub of meat not be sufficient? 

Any info on this would be greatly appreciated.

mschauer

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I believe if you look at the instructions on the Alnutrin they say liver is required to be added in addition to their supplement in order to make a nutritionally complete food.

missmimz

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
You're using alnutrin for meat and bone, right? Yeah ideally you need to add organs to that. I'd call and ask them what the bone content is on that product, too. 

mschauer

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise

You're using alnutrin for meat and bone, right? Yeah ideally you need to add organs to that. I'd call and ask them what the bone content is on that product, too. 
Actually the only organ needed with Alnutrin is liver. 

missmimz

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise

Actually the only organ needed with Alnutrin is liver. 
Well the meat and bone version doesn't actually say that. It says that it's supposed to be used for meat, bones, and organs (including liver). 

LTS3

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise