My Old Girl With Kidney Disease...

kittypa

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
has decided that she is tired of being poked every night and taken to the vet. It’s really becoming a chore, and it saddens me that she is hiding when she would usually be demanding lap time.

I don’t think there is an answer here, more like choices. I could be wrong or just wrong headed.

Insights, experience, or ideas would be appreciated. Thank you.

~Peace~
kp

Last edited:

denice

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I am so sorry. I have just started down this road with my older girl so I have no personal experience. The decision about when enough is enough is a hard one to make. I just did this for my IBD kitty this past January. They always say that you will know. In the past I have struggled with the decision but this time I did know, didn't really make the decision any easier.

duckpond

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Such a very hard place to be in, and decisions to make. I do think there comes a time where more treatment reduces the quality of life to the point where it becomes bad rather than good. If there is a chance for recovery and a lot of happy times left, then yes we continue. With our senior cats, and something they will not recover from i guess sometimes we need to work to give them the best of the time they have left, rather than prolong life for as long as we can. It hurts so bad, but sometimes letting go is the Kindest thing to do. I have not had to do this with one of mine , but everyone i know says that you will know when it is time.

I would work with my vet, i trust mine to give me the advice i need. Can we just control any pain, nausea, ect... give her foods she likes, keep her home, and let her enjoy as best she can the last of her days? Some pass naturally when its time, some we must make the decision for, if it comes to that hopefully your vet will come to your home to make it easier for her?