Moving From Raw To Cooked

qissycat

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I’ve been feeding my cats raw since they were about 3 months old (one is 1 year old, the other is 9 months). I buy my raw from a small local business that follows Dr. Pierson’s guide pretty closely, just not partially cooked. Aside from Ms Picky needing fishy toppers with her raw, they do beautifully on the diet. But a logistic situation has arisen where I need to feed them the cooked equivalent of what I’ve been feeding them for about 2 weeks – a month. So all meat and no carbs/fillers etc.

Questions:

- Is cooked food worse than raw because of the lost nutrition, or are they equal if the nutrition they are getting is the same amount? How do I ensure they will be getting the same nutritional value as raw food?

- Are there any quick and good cooked recipes? I can’t do what most people here do where they buy pre-ground meat from Hare Today and supplement with a pre-mix. I am based in SE Asia and no such thing as pre-mixed supplements here. I would have to buy each supplement separately.

- Do I have to go through the transition process with my cats from raw to cooked?

Thank you in advance!

mschauer

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Below is a link to a bunch of cooked recipes, including nutrient analysis, I've developed for various people over the years. Most of them don't require a pre-mix but use individual nutrient supplements.
Cooked Recipes - Google Drive

I don't know of any evidence that a raw or cooked diet for a cat is better or worst. Some vitamins are degraded by the heat of cooking but a significant amount remain. I do personally prefer that as many nutrients as possible come in their natural form from animal meats and organs but I also know there are actually some nutrients that are more bioavailable in synthetic form so ... :dunno: Cooking at low heat will minimize nutrient loss.