Missing My Little Onyx.

Kat9055

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
This is my first time writing a "crossing the bridge" post, which makes me lucky in a way, but I am not quite sure how they go, so I will just relieve my heart telling Onyx's story. Maybe another will be comforted through their own tough fight against wet FIP.

I started fostering Onyx after I had his brother a week. Both these two cuties were feral, living behind my work before my coworker trapped them and sprayed and released their mother. While Onyx's brother was amiable and nearly tame within a week, Onyx was cautious and afraid of people, clinging to my two older cats desperately.

20170907_184802.jpg 20170930_175406.jpg

Unfortunately, a ringworm outbreak began before I fostered the kittens and they brought it to my home, so they both and spots (and 2 Loki spots) had to be treated. Onyx had it far worse than the others and lost almost all his hair on his face and ears! Through sulfur dips and sulfur spot treatments, I was able to get all but one spot on his tail gone. He remained cautious and scardy for a month, poor thing.

Through a lot of gentle words and cuddles, Onyx became more open and caring, showing his already gentle spirit. He loved to play and would forget his fear as soon as his favorite toy appeared! It always felt like a win for me when he would perch on my leg or lie on/between my calves (his favorite spot). He would do very impressive acrobatic flips and twists, showing off rather than truly trying to catch the toy. He LOVED cuddling and hanging out on peoples’ legs and he would try to watch t.v. with his brother from 2 inches away, though he remained cautious in nature.

20170907_184640.jpg 20170908_233430.jpg