Miscalculated for years

F+V

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I've been feeding my two cats since they were kittens for almost 6 years and haven't changed the recipe much.
Recently, I've been taking my cats a lot to the vet and revisited the online sources for recipes and realized that my recipe uses too much of everything (water, egg yolks, raw glandular supp, fish oil, vitamin B complex, vitamin E, lite iodized salt) except for taurine which was half the required amount :sorry:

For 5.7kg (12.6lbs) of chicken thighs with bones, I was using:
correct amount in green
- water 8 cups 6 cups
- 16 egg yolks 11 yolks
- 16 raw glandular supplement 11 capsules
- 4 tsp taurine powder 7-8 tsp
- 16 fish oil 11-12 capsules
- 16 vitamin B complex 11-12 capsules
- 8 vitamin E 6 capsules
- 6 tsp lite iodized salt 4.5 tsp
- 380g (0.84 lbs) livers 570g (1.25 lbs)
- 1140g (2.5 lbs) hearts
- 532g (1.2 lbs) bones
- 5168g (11.4 lbs) meat w/o skin

I don't know how I ended up with these amounts. I referenced the usual sources like feline nutrition, cat nutrition, cat centric, Dr. Pierson's, etc.
I admit I'm terrible at math but still am perplexed by this recipe to be honest.

Both cats have slightly abnormal hearts, although it's still too early to diagnose it as DCM, HCM and no medication is required at this stage. Also, their small intestines have thick muscle layers than normal but the vet says it's ok as long as blood test values are normal and they are doing fine.

They have high cholesterol levels too. Did I adversely contribute to the conditions of my cats? Can someone please check my revised recipe in green? I understand that I can safely add more fish oil and taurine and my cats probably can benefit from more of them.

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise