Lost My 6 Mo. Old Kitten To Fip Earlier This Year, Now My One Year Old Has It.

LowCalCalzone

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
This has to be a joke. The disease is supposedly rare but what are the odds that the only two cats I have would both get it? It doesn't make any sense to me. I'm so angry and frustrated with this stupid disease and why they haven't found a cure yet. I keep losing my babies and my heart can't take anymore.

Sorry for venting, I just can't believe this. I'm a complete wreck.

Sonatine

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I am so, so sorry. It's a terrible disease and I can't imagine how hard this must be for you. Vent as much as you need, no one here would ever think any less of you for it.

I'm not very experienced in this area but perhaps others will be along with suggestions for keeping your cat comfortable (though sadly you may already know these things).

Again, probably telling you things you already know, but make sure your vet is sure of the diagnosis. Since the symptoms of FIP can be nonspecific, it is occasionally misdiagnosed. I really don't want to give you false hope (since your cat may very well have it, and somehow I don't think you'd be making this post if you had any doubt), but it's worth mentioning.

Anyway, I'll be thinking of you. You're probably focused on taking care of your cat but make sure to take care of yourself, too. Hang in there.

rosegold

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I am so so very sorry. Heartbreaking and unfair and cruel. There are no words. :(

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

LowCalCalzone

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Thank you so much for your kind words. They did blood work and an x-ray which showed fluid in the abdomen. She took a sample from his stomach and it was yellow and sticky (usually a surefire sign of FIP). I just can't believe these odds. I love giving kitties a good home but I can't help but feeling like I'm doing something wrong or their doomed as soon as they walk in.

neely

May the purr be with you