Kitten gets pee and litter on his behind when peeing

xemica

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone,

I am new to TheCatSite forum.  Have been trying to search for this answer everywhere but no luck and was hoping someone could help me with my kitten's behaviour.

We recently got an American Shorthair, he is about  7 and a half months old right now.  His testicles/sac was quite large before we got him neutered at the end of July 2016.

After his neutering, we noticed he kept on getting pee and litter on his fur/testicle sac on his behind.  He would leave blobs of litter and pee on our bedding, carpets and practically anywhere he sat after he used the litter box.  I had to go wipe his behind everytime I saw him use the litter box.  At that point, we thought we might have put in too much litter so when we did our whole litter change, we put less in.  After that, the problem was fixed so we always kept the litter lower/less in the box so he would not get pee/litter stuck on his behind/fur/sac again.

Recently, he started doing it again!!!  And there is so little litter already.  It's like he's sitting wayyyy too low when he's peeing and touches everything.

His fur is not long at all, he just squats way too low when he goes pee.

I would totally appreciate any advice, suggestions or help on this as I know he can be a clean cat.  We got him older (15+ weeks) so he fully learned all the potty lessons from his mother before we got him.

Thank you in advance and hope to hear from you guys soon!

Primula

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I wonder if he would realize what is happening if you didn't wipe him down? You are cleaning him up & he hasn't learned what to avoid to stay clean.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

xemica

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I don't think that's the problem as I don't/can't wipe him down every time he pees. I probably wipe him 1-2 times out of the 3-4 times he goes per day. =|

tabbytom

Happiness is being owned by a cat
Staff Member
Mentor
Purraise