is he a Black tabby? or is he melanistic?

helsic

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hello everyone! I'm newbie here!

I live in China and I found 2 newborn kittens abandoned in the street a month ago, I took them in and raised them (it was SO HARD because they were like 2 weeks old still blind and really weak). One of them is very special, it was totally black but its fur started to change weeks ago and it's becoming more like a tabby, a pretty dark tabby. I wonder if it's a 'black' tabby or if he is just a melanistic kitten. I have never seen a 'black' tabby before so I'm very curious. The other kitten is an orange tabby (I guess?).

PD: they aren't brothers I found them in different places.

he has the 'standard' tabby marks in his body but it is black ^^

this is an orange tabby right?

He has the 'M' in his forehead just like regular tabbies.

What do you think? is he melanistic?

dan birchall

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I know very little about cats but I must admit that is one cool-looking one!

bigperm20

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
He may have what is colloquially called a "fever coat". When a very young kitten gets sick or malnourished their coat can lose it's pigment somewhat. As long as he remains healthy, it will eventually disappear.

It is possible too that his coat is a color known as "black smoke". It's pretty rare, so I'm leaning towards fever coat b/c of his age.

pinkdagger

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
If Sirius doesn't have "fever coat", he reminds me a lot of my Kismet, who is a black smoke tabby (smoke refers to the fur where it's white at the roots and black at the tips). As a baby,

View media item 229737
And as an adult,

View media item 229738
It's harder to tell with Godric since his fur is so sparse and light that stripes or spots are a bit harder to see on him!

bigperm20

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Maybe @Stefanz can weigh in on the fever coat issue. He knows more than I for sure.