How Much Litter Is Normal?

Rini

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I ask because I go through a lot. About 38lbs every 2 weeks so about 76lbs a month.

And I only have one cat! It's not super cheap either, about 40 dollars a month.

Just wondering if this is normal as I am new to being financially responsible for my pets.

My boy likes the litter high (he'll go on the rug if it's too low) and I change the entire liner out/clean the whole box/bathroom once a week. Am I doing it wrong?

war&wisdom

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I only change the entire box every 3-4 weeks, and I clean the box every day. If the level gets low between deep cleans, I top it off. I have two 6-month-old kittens and two boxes (will eventually get a third box, when they're a little bigger), and they seem happy with the state of their bathrooms!

rubysmama

Forum Helper
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Are you using clumping or non-clumping litter?

I only have one cat, and use clumping litter, and I almost never dump out and replace all the litter, I just remove the waste clumps and add more litter as it gets low. And clean the box weekly, using litter box wipes.

I buy a 14 lb box ($5.99 when I can find it on sale, 7.49-ish regularly), and it lasts at least a month. Probably closer to 6 weeks, though I haven't kept track lately.

Here's a TCS article with more info that might be helpful:
How To Set Up An Effective Litterbox Maintenance Routine

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Rini

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I use clumping and even though I scoop every day, he will start to sniff and walk away if I don't change out ALL the litter frequently. I also feel it gets to a point where the pieces break off and I can't get them all out and I don't want to put clean litter over top dirty litter.

The other factor is that the liner starts to wear down (his claws are sharp).

He eats quite a lot and uses the box 5-6 times a day.

Thank you for the article!

rubysmama

Forum Helper
Staff Member