Hello everyone

russm

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I am new to the world of cats. I just adopted one from a co-worker. She is 7 weeks old and I have named her BooBoo. She is pure white like fresh fallen snow.
I am trying to adjust to having her in my home but am enjoying her very much.
She is very loving and playfull.
She hasn't learned about the litter box yet, she is just excited about the fact that she can jump and the litter goes all over the floor.
:tounge2:
Is there a secret to litter box training?
Thanks and I look foreward to a long friendship with you all.

krazy kat2

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Welcome! Yes, there is a secret to litterbox training. Patience. If you see BooBoo looking aroung like she might be about to potty, pick her up and put her in the box. Praise her lavishly when she uses the box. Most kittens pick up on it pretty easily. She is very young, so it may take her a little longer. Congratulations on our new addition. We would all love to see pics of her if you have some. I have a pretty little white kitty, too. Her name is Pearl.

deb25

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Gee, and I thought the secret was prayer. That's the one I've always used. Put him in the litter box and pray.

Actually, make sure the box isn't near the food and that it affords some privacy. Those are 2 tips I've always read. If you go over to the Behavior forum and look into the threads about people having litter box problems, many other suggestions are there.

Welcome russm, and good luck!

ldg

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I'm new to cats and The Cat Site, too, but everyone is so helpful, I'm sure you'll find knowledgeable suggestions. The new member of your family sounds beautiful. I live in an RV and a stray adopted me - she still wants to live outside though, so I haven't had the problem of litterbox training. Good Luck! :tounge2:

jeanie g.

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise