Feeding A 5 Month Old Kitten?

xShareBearx

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all,
I recently adopted a 5 month old kitten named Romeo. I was wondering how much I should feed him? I can still feel his ribs but his tummy feels a little round. I was doing some research and a lot of people seem to free feed dry and feed 1-3 cans a day. I've tried leaving some dry out but he didn't stop eating it so I had to pick it up before he finished it all! I want to make sure I'm not underfeeding but not overfeeding either. I'm feeding him Nature's Variety Instinct Kitten dry food and I have a few little cans of Simply Nourish kitten stew. Should I be allowing him to eat however much he wants? I know the bag says for his age/weight I should be feeding him 3/8-1/2 cup a day.
Thanks!!

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Veteran
Purraise
Hi, I'm not an expert but as I understand it kittens need to be allowed to eat as much as they want. There is a lot of growth going on that needs to be fueled :redheartpump:

tabbytom

Happiness is being owned by a cat
Staff Member
Mentor
Purraise
:hellosmiley: xShareBearx, welcome to TCS!

Romeo is very much a kitten at 5 months old. He needs lots of proteins and nourishments to grow and it all comes from feeding him wet food and not carbohydrates.

Feed him 4-5 times a day and as much as he can eat at one sitting. You can’t over feed a kitten. A kitttn is active and energetic and they burn off lots of calories.

Feed him on scheduled feeds (I’m referring to wet food) and observe how much he can eat at one sitting. If he ask for more, give him more and if he walks away after eating, that’s roughly the amount he’ll eat at one sitting. So at the next feed, give him that amount x amount of times a day.

Wet food = proteins and dry food = carbohydrates.