Decent But Affordable Weight Loss Food For Constipation-prone Cat?

treeclimber

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I have a 5-year-old neutered male cat who is currently 15 pounds but should be about 12 pounds. He is indoor only, but moderately active. I built him a little jungle gym that he loves to climb/jump on, and we play with toys a lot too.

Our vet had us try the Science Diet weight loss food food, but he went from 14 pounds to 15 pounds on that (and I was measuring the correct amount!). It was also pretty expensive, which isn't great since I'm a broke student.

I have been feeding him Friskies canned food (pates, since there's no gravy/less carbs) but half a can twice a day has only halted the weight gain, he still isn't losing weight. When the Friskies canned is 100% of his diet, he also tends to get constipated.

Within the constraints of "store bought" and "not super expensive" what can I feed him that will help him lose weight (and not make him constipated)?

KarenKat

Kitty on the half shell, tortie power!
Top Cat
Purraise
Hello, and welcome! I don’t know much about constipation, but I would think moisture would help. Canned food tends to have less carbs and fillers and is very filling for a cat. Kibble is so calorie dense I would think it isn’t very satisfying to eat the right amount of. Especially putting him on a diet I would think more filling is better since he already might get a little grumpy.

Instead of “diet food”, pick a healthy wet food and reduce the calories. A cat should get about 20-25 kcal per pound, so feed him that and reduce the calories by about 10-15%. Keep in mind pretty much all pet food overestimates the amount of calories needed, so feeding him the “right amount” based on the bag is probably still overfeeding.