Clopedigril (plavix) Transdermal Gel

Kimsb

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I'm happy to be a New Member to this site and wish to see if anyone has used a Transdermal Gel in the ear of their cat to administer a medication called Clopedigril/Plavix. My 12 year old Norwegian Forest Cat, Snowbell, has Congestive Heart Failure and has been prescribed this medication to help avoid blood clots. We've administered it in liquid form, by syringe, but the taste is so bitter she foams and drools it out despite it being compounded in a double-marshmallow flavor. I was concerned a Transdermal gel in the ear wouldn't successfully be absorbed well and hoped someone has tried this form of administration for this particular Rx with success. Thank you so very much for your help.

margd

Chula and Paul's roommate
Veteran
Purraise
Although I have no first hand experience in using transdermal gels on cats, I can pass on some general information about them that might help you. The efficacy of transdermal gels varies from cat to cat because so many factors can influence absorption. These factors include age, skin thickness and lipid content, blood flow and hydration levels, the density of hair follicles and the pH of the skin. My understanding is that because of this variability it's especially important to keep a record of symptoms when using transdermal formulations so that vets can monitor and adjust dosages as necessary. In this way, vets can compensate for lack of absorption so you can be assured your cat is getting the medication she needs. I don't know if it always works out that way in practice but in theory, this is the process involved.