clicker training?

animalgirl

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I am an avid clicker trainer when it comes to dogs, but I've never really tried it with cats. I know there has been some success with it, but have any of you tried clicker training your cats/kittens? If so, what were your observations?

coaster

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I've tried it and it does work, but I haven't been motivated enough to really pursue it.

girlieq

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
We did very basic training for my cats (when I lived with my parents). Making a clicking sound would call them, but we never advanced beyond that.

We didn't use clicking, but my first cat did learn some voice commands, like beg and I believe 'stay'. That was a while ago, though.

KitEKats4Eva!

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Originally Posted by WellingtonCats

I wouldn't try it, I'm not here to control my cats..
I used it with Sashka when she was so mental that I thought she was going to hurt herself. I don't see it as a method of control - it's training, same as with dogs or other animals - including children. Sometimes they need to be taught to stop doing things that are dangerous to themselves or others.

I've had a very high amount of success with it with my puppy - on Sashka I just used it to stop her from chewing on the television cords or jumping up on really high benches she couldn't get down from, or scratching me to pieces when she played. She really loved it, too - she was always so ready for her little training sessions!!

MoochNNoodles

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Originally Posted by KitEKats4Eva!

I used it with Sashka when she was so mental that I thought she was going to hurt herself. I don't see it as a method of control - it's training, same as with dogs or other animals - including children. Sometimes they need to be taught to stop doing things that are dangerous to themselves or others.