Cat Shaking Head And Loosing Weight

Jenniey90

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi.

This is my first time posting so please be gentle with me and sorry if I waffle.

Little over a week ago I took my cat to the vets for her flea and worm treatment and the vet commented that she had lost a bit of weight since the last time she had been. I didn’t think much of it as it had been a 3 month period and the vet didn’t seemed bothered by it either. We went on a little holiday end of last week for 3 days and the neighbour was looking after the cat while we were away and the had messaged to say that she hadn’t seen the cat but obviously there was sign that the cat was there. Again I didn’t panic as she isn’t the most sociable of cats and not your typical “lap cat”. Came home and instantly noticed that she looked and felt skinny. I could also tell she was clearly miffed off that we had gone away for the 3 days but after a while she became her usual sassy self. However since being home she has completely stopped eating her dry food but still wanting her meat, which she usually has at nighttime. No matter what I do I can’t for the life of me get her to have any dried food. I’ve changed the brand, tried adding it to the meat, tried swapping the times around, changed bowls. Nada! I’ve also noticed she has started doing this weird head shake and scratching at her ear more. She doesn’t seem to be in any pain it jut seems to be annoying her more than anything.

Should I admit defeat with the dried food and give her an only wet food diet? Should I also be concerned about the head shaking? Are the two likely to be connected or if is just coincidence?

Thanks in advance!

silkenpaw

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise