Cat In Heat Refuses To Mate?

miss.dia

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
So, I'm new to mating cats. I have a 2 year old female cat who's going through heat for about 5 days already. She shows the signs; she's very loud and affectionate (she's very aloof when she's normal :\), she rubs herself on the floor, raises her butt in the air and things like that but she doesn't let my male, who's been with her for a year already, mate with her. She fights with him whenever he tries. I've tried introducing her to other tomcats in the past but she just wouldn't let them. Is this normal or just some weird mating ritual?

lutece

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
What breed are you working with? Can you call the breeder of your female cat and ask if her mom was the same way?

talkingpeanut

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Is this the same cat with medical issues you were posting about in December?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

miss.dia

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
What breed are you working with? Can you call the breeder of your female cat and ask if her mom was the same way?
She's a Himalayan-Siamese cat. Sadly, I don't have contact with the breeder I got her from.

Is this the same cat with medical issues you were posting about in December?
Nope! It's another cat. The one I posted about last time is spayed and vaccinated :)

lutece

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Himalayan (colorpoint Persian) and Siamese are really different breeds... is she a combination of both? What about your male?

miss.dia

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Yes, she is. That's what the breeder told me but she just looks likes a hairy siamese, not as fluffy as a himmie. My male is a domestic shorthair.

talkingpeanut

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Why are you interested in breeding cats that will be moggies, or common cat mixes? It does not sound like your cats have been health tested.