Can 5 Cats Use 3 Litter Boxes?

oldgloryrags88

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I have 5 cats. All females. The adults are spayed but my kitten is not. They are 13 yrs, 10 yrs, 10 yrs, 8 yrs, and 7 months old.

I've been using just 2 litter boxes for 2-3 years now and no problems. I use (usually) a clumping litter and scoop 2-4 times a day and change the whole boxes once a month. Litter is currently ScoopAway Super Clump Unscented. I'd like to add a third litter box, but I'm unsure? I do not have the room or time for 5 litter boxes. Each cat does not need its own litter box I believe (humans don't have a toilet per person?!) .

Is this okay to do? Thoughts? Opinions? Experiences? Thanks! Happy Holidays! :)

Willowy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
The more the better. I wouldn't recommend only having 3 boxes for 5 cats but if you've been using 2 then it's only an improvement! No, humans don't need one toilet each but cats are a lot more territory-focused. And generally don't flush :tongue2:. If you keep the boxes clean enough your cats may not object.

Kat0121

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I have 5 cats. All females. The adults are spayed but my kitten is not. They are 13 yrs, 10 yrs, 10 yrs, 8 yrs, and 7 months old.

I've been using just 2 litter boxes for 2-3 years now and no problems. I use (usually) a clumping litter and scoop 2-4 times a day and change the whole boxes once a month. Litter is currently ScoopAway Super Clump Unscented. I'd like to add a third litter box, but I'm unsure? I do not have the room or time for 5 litter boxes. Each cat does not need its own litter box I believe (humans don't have a toilet per person?!) .

Is this okay to do? Thoughts? Opinions? Experiences? Thanks! Happy Holidays!
The general rule of thumb is one box per cat plus one extra but if you diligent about scooping it could work. I have 3 cats and 5 boxes. They enjoy having the choices. 

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

oldgloryrags88

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise