Binx's mom here, with a question

raksha

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hello all,

As you may notice, I am new here and also to cat ownership (or being a cat slave, as my sister calls it).

I recently adopted a 1y/o male RB, Binx, about a month ago, and he has yet to open up to me. He's completely comfortable around the apartment (even the vacuum cleaner!) and gums/cheek rubs all over everything, except me. Considering I'm new to this and his breed, I'm at a loss of what I can do to make him feel that I am trustworthy (instead of just a food, water, and waste disposal machine).

One thing I've been seriously considering, is the idea of adopting an older, female RB who needs a home (and is touted to be a total love bug), who could be a companion to Binx, and also show him that I'm not a scary giant, but a loving caretaker. I'm also considering it because my next semester in college is going to be brutal, and I don't want him becoming lonely or depressed.

Any advice/suggestions? I've been doing my best not to love all over him (as I've been told that makes some cats uncomfortable), play with him on his terms, etc... but I feel like I'm missing out on the fuzz therapy I really need.

Thanks in advance, y'all.

V/r,

Raksha

mingking

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Welcome to TCS!

I adopted my first cat around 3 months ago too and I'll say, I think my cat changed a lot from the first month to now. He was a floppy, quiet cat his first month. Now? He meows pretty loud and will jump on everything like he owns the place. 

So I wouldn't worry if he's not being cuddly as long as he's not being aggressive towards you. I think in time, he'll warm up to you.

Some things you can try doing would be petting him while he's eating so he associates your pets with good food. Drape shirt you've worn on his bed so he gets familiar with your smell. But ultimately, time will tell.