Best Canned Food For Kittens (canada)

sawa

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi there! I've been trying to see what good wet food is available for kittens. I'm still new to all this, but I do have dry food thats always available to him and I feed him canned food twice a day. I purchased Performatrin for kittens in the flavour of Chicken and it seemed to sit well in my kittens stomach as he no longer has diarrhea. I was wondering if this food is actually good for kittens as they say it is. If not, what brands do you recommend and why?

Neo_23

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I would recommend canned food that is free of gums, carrageenan, grains, potatoes and peas and that is low in carbs with a meat-based protein source. Performatrin is not bad. I personally wouldn't feed it because it contains carrageenan. But if your kitten is doing well on it you may just feed it until he/she is a bit older and then transition to a non-carrageenan adult food.

I have tried several can foods with my kitten. My experiences have been that grain based canned foods like Royal Canin give him constipation and he doesn't really like them. Grain free canned foods that load up on potatoes or peas and have gums like Wellness were not a big hit either. High protein canned foods like Weruva gave him diarrhea (but they also have lots of gums).

This all said... in my opinion the best "kitten" labelled canned food available in Canada is Nutro soft kitten loaf. The only questionable ingredients are natural flavours and guar gum. I think it's pretty decent. It has low carb and high protein/fat. Unfortunately it also gave my kitten soft stools, but it may work for your kitten.

You may also consider an "all life stages" food. The only canned food I have had success with for my kitten is Rawz. It's only available at select small pet stores. You can look up availability on their website. Or, if you're on the West Coast I can give you recommendations on where to buy.

riley1

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise