At what age does a cat's fur stop developing?

apf02

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello! I have a blue domestic longhair. He resembles a Nebelung but he is not pure bred. Do longhairs keep getting fluffier as they age up till a certain point? I have seen pictures of his father (also a blue domestic long hair and his mom resembles a turkish angora but also not pure bred) and he was much fluffier than my kitty. Also, the father was much bigger in size which leads me to my second question. At what age do cats stop growing? I have seen that it is around 2 yrs but I feel like my kitty is still far from a being big sized kitty and he is 1 yr and 9 months old. Thank you for your help!

Anne

Site Owner
Staff Member
Admin
Purraise
Interesting questions. I am not an expert on this and will tag a breeder who knows one of the larger longhair breeds, Maine Coons and maybe able to help @GemsGem.

What I can say is that many cats have seasonal patterns. They have a thicker coat during winter and then shed more than usual in springtime. 

As for overall growth, most of it is done before the cats reach sexual maturity. There's a theory claiming that once cats become sexually mature, hormonal changes slow down growth to the point of stopping (the same thing happens in humans). That's why cats that are spayed/neutered before reaching sexual maturity are claimed to be a little bit larger. As with many things related to our cats, there is little solid scientific data (and yet a LOT of opinions about pretty much anything 
 ). Here's a study which was done to try and see if early spay/neuter affects the overall weight (a good indication of size). The results are not conclusive, and it's a small-scale study to begin with. In other words, there isn't a good evidence-based answer to your question, although I suspect many breeders have their own views, based on their experience. Their views are important but should not be confused with actual studies.

GemsGem

Mentor
Staff Member
Mentor