Asthma maintenance?

chickpea616

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi all,
I'm new to feline asthma - my foster failure Scarlet (12 years old) just got diagnosed with feline asthma and we just finished a course of Prednisone. That worked wonderfully and now she's not having any asthma attacks....however, I'm guessing we aren't "done" with the issue, only that it was temporarily corrected with the meds. So now I'm just trying to be proactive and see what can be done for the future.

So I'm hoping that other owners of cats with asthma can chime in here - do I just "be on the lookout" for any symptoms and call the vet as necessary? Is there such a thing as maintenance meds? Should I get an inhaler? (And i hear they are expensive - if I do need to get one, where are people getting their inhalers).??

Any and all info is appreciated! Thanks!

WillowMarie

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hi there! Two of my three have asthma, one who is in her early teens and had it since being a few years old. My vet explained to keep her away from scents and anything burning (no candles, incense, perfume, air fresheners, smoking), vacuum and dust regularly, and keep a healthy weight (esp. because pred can increase their appetite).