Approaches To Urine Marking - How Long Does It Take?

ma.cro430

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi, newbie here. I've been doing a lot of research lately about reasons for urine marking/spraying. I am nearly at my wit's end already with my little one. I have not seen any improvement with her daily Gabapentin and Dasaquin. This week I have pulled out all the stops, but I have yet to see any vast improvement with these approaches either. Or maybe I am being impatient because this has been going on for the last month to no avail.

I have a spayed FELV+ female cat -- Thalia -- that's 8 months old. I recently posted another thread trying to figure out her FLUTD issues that have been occurring for the past month and between my vet and I we think it's a cross between boredom, loneliness, and possibly territorial and the combination is stressing her out causing her cystitis, as well as her pacing and whining. She does live with another spayed female -- Venus -- (3 years old, NOT FELV+; has continued to test negative and has been routinely vaccinated and boostered since she was very young so vet gave the okay to co-habit) and a dog -- Sadie -- whom she plays with both at least once every day, but not very often. Whenever Thalia tries to play with Venus, she's often countered with a hiss and a growl and then Venus walks away. If Thalia tries to pursue again, Venus will growl and run away, or give her a swat (no claws out) with her paw. When Venus DOES play with her when she feels like it, everything goes well and they're happy. These play sessions don't typically last longer than 10 - 20 minutes though. Same goes for the dog. My fiance and I are gone out of the house several days a week for hours at a time due to work, and school on my part, so they are all left alone at the house for the most part.

So far I've done the following: