Young Kittens and the Litter Box

claraadele

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
For those with experience raising kittens, this is my first time with anyone under 4 weeks.

My boys (still with momma) are now 3 weeks. They recently started exploring/using Momma's litter box. However, they are also still fully mastering walking and climbing. Whenever they go in the box, they tend to climb in and fall face first (I just noticed them starting to use the box yesterday, so this has not been going on long.)

When they fall, they end up with litter all over their face and start to lick it off. It is NON-clumping clay litter and I watched them yesterday and cleaned it off their face/out of their mouth the second they got any.

In the midst of finding either a teeny box for them to go next to momma's box (though they might still try for the big one) or one short enough that they can't fall, but long/wide enough for Momma to use as well.

My questions are:

What is the usual age for kittens to be using the box?

Until I can find a solution, how bad is it for them to be accidentally swallowing a little non-clumping clay litter?

Should I switch to a different litter until I can find the right box and if so, what kind?

So far I have only seen them use the box twice during the duration of a day, the rest of the time Momma takes care of them. I'm guessing they're just starting to try it out right now.

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Its ok with this non clumping litter. It is the self point - they not seldom even try to eat it.  So if they happen to swallow a little, it doenst matter. The common baked clay isnt poisonous.

As the litter for them you can use some shallow cardboard box. Or such kitchen-utensils forms made of aluminium foil.  "once time baking forms".  Many uses such ones for the little ones. Useful also as emergency litter for adult. Say if they are in a smallish cage.

You can probably also use a common plate for them kittens.

Good luck!