Yet another coat color question :)

clixpix

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I take pictures of cats for a local rescue for their website. Today I took pictures of this gorgeous little DSH 5 month old kitten. The marking on the top of her head is either smoke or shaded (if I'd had more time, I'd have gotten a close-up of it. Her tail has a lighter version of the spot. The rest of her is white (with occasional smoke/shaded hairs). Her eyes are gorgeous...bluish/seafoam green. Perhaps they're aqua, but maybe they'll continue to change as she grows up?

Anyway, I wanted to gather some opinions on how you would describe her coat color for her description? Thanks! She's also the sweetest little thing!

staceyloobug

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I'm not an expert, but somewhere I read that any cat that is mostly white, but with markings (black/gray/orange) on their head and tail (and sometimes one or two spots on their back) is a van cat.

My Mom has one like this (Bubbles
), and he lives up to what I've read the personality of a van cat is.

Anyway, someone will come along and help you out more than I can, but that's how I'd describe her as far as coat/breed, as a non-expert anyway.

goldenkitty45

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
She is very pretty. She would be a van if color is on head and tail. As far as the real color that's hard to tell just by the picture. She does look black smoke and white, but I think its just off color black.

I'd have to really see the cat in person to tell correctly. The base of the black fur has to be white. The "smoke" color usually doesn't show up on the surface but many blacks if they have been sick at some recent time can get "fever coat" where the black fur appears to be smoked out.

northernglow

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Originally Posted by GoldenKitty45