Why Is She Doing This???

HellsBells80

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Hi all I'm new to the cat site here, but I'm really hoping someone might be able to help me. I have 4 cats all of them get on well together. Just these last few days the youngest cat who is 6 months old and female not yet spayed, has started to use my youngest child's bed as her litter box, she has always used the box before I've never had any issues with her before. I can't understand why her behaviour has suddenly changed? She still uses all the litter boxes as well. We have 3 boxes and I always keep them clean and haven't changed litter either, can anyone help please??

Ardina

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Hi HellsBells80! First of all, welcome to TCS! You should introduce you and your cats in the New Cats on the Block forum. :)

In terms of your youngest cat, it's likely that she has now matured and is either going to go into heat soon or already has and is advertising this by peeing outside the box. Spaying her should fix the problem. Are your other cats spayed?

margd

Chula and Paul's roommate
Veteran
Purraise
There are two things that come to mind. One is that your girl may be going into heat or is in heat already. It's not uncommon for unspayed cats to urinate outside the box or to spray during those times. The fact that she's using your youngest child's bed may indicate a territorial component to it as well - also common when a female goes into heat.

The second is that she might have a UTI. Do you notice her straining at all when she tries to urinate?