What color is Zebu?

zebu

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hiya,

this is our little kitty, Zebulon  (picasaweb link, I can't seem to insert pics here for some reason :( ).

I was wondering, what his color is called "officially", I never had a cat like him.

Strange thing is that his fur is only partly this light-brownish-cappuccino color, the root of the fur is white, is that normal?

Does this has a specific name? I'm not even sure about the color (but well, I'm no native english speaker... :)

Here is also a video about him:

Cheers from Hungary!

sivyaleah

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I'm not an expert for color so I won't even try but I wanted to tell you that your kitty is totally adorable!  What a wonderful video 

maewkaew

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
 Zebu looks like Cream Shaded Cameo    ( a combination of the dilute version of red, plus the Inhibitor gene that inhibitors color on the part of the hairs closest to the roots -- it pushes out the color to just the ends.   The more extreme  version of it is called " tipped"   or " chinchilla"  )   

but it's just possible the base color is something more unusual like fawn instead of cream.  ( and I don't even know what the official name would be for that!)  

the pictures and video are super cute.    I can tell Zebu is a much loved young kitty! 

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

zebu

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Thanks for the kind answers :)Zebu is a very cute and good mannered kitty, we love him very much.It's so much fun watching him grow!
 but it's just possible the base color is something more unusual like fawn instead of cream.  ( and I don't even know what the official name would be for that!)  

Last edited:

maewkaew

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
 OK thanks for putting up that photo and letting me know that this photo is the best representation of his color.  It confirms my initial thought that the base color does look like Cream,   which is sort of like a pale peach color.