Vomiting immediately after eating raw?

brookesphynx

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi All,

I've been feeding my 4 sphynx a completely raw diet for about 3 months now. I switched (reluctantly, I'll admit) because one of my boys had diarrhea on every single other food I gave him. Within 48 hours of feeding him raw food, he had solid poop.
I also have noticed wonderful improvements in my other kitties since making the switch, so I have vowed that I'm never going back to kibble and cans!!

I've been feeding Nature's Variety frozen raw. Mainly for convenience and because I don't trust myself to mix everything and give them all their nutrients - I've decided to leave that up to the experts. I've been trying the different proteins with them. None of the four of them were ever excited about chicken, so I switched to venison for a while, which was okay, then I tried beef. My girl, Mandy throws up the beef EVERY SINGLE TIME she eats it, immediately after eating. I also noticed it was really fatty, so just decided not to give any of them beef anymore and switched them to lamb. Lamb has been great for several weeks until this morning, Mandy vomited immediately after eating the lamb!

Has anyone experienced this? Any suggestions? Help! I really don't want to put her back on kibble, but is it possible that Mandy just isn't suited for raw? (that wouldn't make sense to me, because aren't all healthy cats suited for raw?!)

A little background on Mandy, she's 2.5 years old, perfectly healthy, normal BM's, normal activity level, never been a big eater, and she was the hardest one to transition to raw - it took weeks! She will only eat the pre-made raw, she won't go near the fresh raw chicken necks that the rest of my guys go crazy for.

Thanks, everyone. This looks like a great resource...I look forward to your advice!

sharky

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise