Urgent - Question on non-recognition aggression

Kelise

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I'm really hoping to get an answer within 2 hours so I know what to do.

One of my cats just had a dental and since bringing him back home, my other cat hates him. I have since learned about non-recognition aggression. It's been 2 days and it's not getting better. I actually have 3 cats and am freaked out because 2 of them already don't get along and have to be kept separate. I can't handle needing to keep all 3 cats separate. It would be impossible.

To prevent things from really going south, I know I need to keep them separate. I only have a few options. I have to leave for work in 2 hours. I can bring the aggressor with me (I'm a vet tech, so he would be going to the same place my other cat got his dental). Would that make it worse? Would it maybe make the aggressor feel less territorial since he spent some time away from home? Or will the stress make it much worse?

I can set one of them up in a big crate in my room with a litter box and whatnot. I'm not super keen on this because my family member is a graveyard shift worker and needs to sleep today. I'm positive the cat will scream all day.

I can leave one cat outside. I have an invisible fence for them but I still have a lot of nerves about leaving them out there when someone is not available to hear something bad happening. But this would probably be the most comfortable option for both cats.

Please help me decide. I very much can't have two cats that no longer get along because I took one for a vet procedure.

I'm also considering getting the aggressor some temporary calming medication. Maybe some Gabapentin. Good idea?

di and bob

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise