Unsure How To Read My New Cat

cheyennes

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone!

I'm new to the wild world of cats. Some background: I started fostering Chester, an adorable orange kitty about a month ago. He's estimated to be around 5 years old. He was a stray for a while, but I'm certain that he had a home before because he apparently had no street smarts (walking in front of cars, etc.) and adjusted immediately to being inside. A few weeks ago, he had to get all of his teeth removed due to gum disease.

The first week or two that I had him, he seemed desperate for affection, which I happily gave him. However, since then, maybe as he's gotten more comfortable, his behavior has changed and I'm having a tough time decoding it.

Chester does some things that indicate he likes me: he'll lay on me once or twice a week for a while. He usually chooses to sit in the same room as me. And he rubs his head on me and licks me often. But he also mystifies me! Last week, he was chewing my hair and when I gently brought my hand behind my head to scratch his head and redirect his attention, he sunk both of his claws into my cheeks and ran away. And whenever I pet him (I stick to his head/chin because he clearly likes this best), after several seconds his tail starts to swish and he tries to bite me. Other times when I pet him, he swats my hand away and meows. He's the most vocal cat I've ever met! He doesn't sit next to me on the couch anymore either; he prefers the floor?! I give him a lot of space, but sometimes he'll lay in front of me with his belly up like he wants attention, then decides he doesn't.