Underweight Stray

PipersMom

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
We recently adopted a cat who we named Piper. She is beautiful and sweet, but extremely underweight. I am currently feeding her what she was being fed by the lady who took her after I found her in my garage (after several unsuccessful attempts to find her family - she was obviously someone's baby at some point. She came back to me because she was so unhappy there). She is eating Cat Chow Complete with Friskies wet food. Now, as a former dog owner, I am assuming that much like that world, the cat world has strong opinions on cat nutrition. I am new to cat ownership, so I am learning. I am sure Cat Chow and Friskies are not high quality foods though. I didn't want to upset her GI system while I am trying to help her gain weight and get healthy again, so I kept her on the same food. I would like to change it at some point though.

I am totally new to cats, so what are some opinions on feeding? Cat foods, types of cat foods, when to feed, etc. Thanks!

KarenKat

Kitty on the half shell, tortie power!
Top Cat
Purraise
Hi and welcome! There are definitely very strong opinions on cat food, so welcome to the rabbit hole lol. And welcome to Piper! So glad she found a loving home.

While many people have different opinions on what is a bad vs good brand, and what ingredients to avoid there are some undisputed facts. Unlike dogs, who are omnivores, cats are “obligate carnivores” - this means they eat and thrive on meat specifically.

They also evolved from desert animals and have a low thirst drive, getting their water from the prey they eat. so wet is generally considered better than dry food. You’re already doing great by feeding both!

When I look at cat foods, I want to see meat in the first couple of ingredients. I avoid fillers like potatoes, peas, corn, wheat and soy when possible, and if I can’t I prefer them to not be in the first five ingredients. This is easier don’t for wet food than dry food.