Trust building with foster cat

dthlo

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I have been fostering a cat for 3-4 months, she's 3yrs old. Has a lot of energy, but can get overstimulated with excessive petting though she's getting a little better.

The good: I have no problems picking her up and carrying her around (for about a minute), she definitely wants to be in the same room as me all the time, loves to explore, and once in a while she'll nap next to me.

The bad: She bats away my outstretched hand (when overstimulated), nips at ankles when she gets frustrated (e.g. when she's not getting enough attention or wants food, i think...), doesn't like having her paws touched. If I place her on my lap, she immediately runs off. Currently, she doesn't sleep in the bedroom, and will paw at it around 5am each morning.

Her preference to stay 6ft away from me (she's doing her part by social distancing) and no lap time is probably what's making her difficult to adopt. Was wondering if there are any tried & true tips to build trust with this kitty.

susanm9006

Willow
Top Cat
Purraise
The best way to gain a cats trust is to not force them to do something they aren’t comfortable with. I would not set her on your lap but instead see if you can entice her to do it herself by giving her some good treat like wet food on a spoon or an Inaba churro when she gets close. You start out along side of you and keep bring it closer until she needs to be on you to get the treat.

Jcatbird

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise