The make up of gravy in pouches

catguy1993

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi,

My vet wants to put my cat on a food which is only available in dry form. The problem is that my cat really enjoys her wet food. My question is this - is the make up of the gravy in pouches the same as the make up of the pieces of food? My idea is to squeeze just the gravy from a pouch and mix it with the dry food.

For eg, if I took a pouch of food x, and my cat cannot digest food x - would it still negatively affect her if she only consumed the gravy from it?

This might seem like a strange/stupid question but I am relatively new to cats. I'm looking to start her on the new(dry only) diet next week and I'm dreading it.

Any advice appreciated

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi. The gravy is going to contain a degree of the entire contents of the wet food. What is the purpose to changing your cat to dry food? That might help in getting members to come up with some solutions for you.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

catguy1993

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
thanks for the response. The vet wants her to move to Royal Canin hypoallergenic dry food, and there doesn't seem to be a good brand of wet hypoallergenic food available. My cat has an underlying diagnosis of pancreatitis/triaditis. We've tried many different diets over the last few years with varying degrees of success.

If necessary I can move her to the dry food only as she is inclined to drink plenty of water. But she much prefers wet food.

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Thanks for the additional information. Some other members may have some alternative food ideas for you, but in the meantime, you can add water to the dry food and let it soak so that she is getting the extra moisture as well as making it more like the consistency of wet food.

Maybe take a look at these options to compare to the RC while you wait to hear from other members? There are some wet foods listed.