start of a raw diet

selfus

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I've been transitioning my cat to a raw meat diet; I wondering if someone could give me feedback about what I'm currently feeding her (if it's OK or not), since I'm new at this. I've been reading www.catnutrition.org and plan on following the main recipe.

Today, I put 12 oz raw organic beef liver and 24 oz raw locally-sourced chicken thigh (previously had been frozen in bite-size pieces in sandwich bags) in the food processor, and portioned this mixture into 1/2-cup servings into individual plastic bags (to put in freezer, and one bag for the fridge). I'm feeding her twice a day, each FEEDING consists of 1/4 cup of the liver and thigh mixture, mixed in with 1/2 can of store-bought wet food (I've been buying Core Wellness trout flavor).

Does this sound like a good recipe for my cat until I can purchase a meat grinder (eventually I want to be including raw chicken bones).

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

selfus

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I forgot to add that my cat is a Maine Coon mix (I think, I adopted her a few years ago), and she weighs 15 pounds. She is slightly overweight, as Maine Coon females apparently are supposed to weigh 12-13 pounds. Do I need to be feeding her more than what I listed above? I don't want her to lose that excess weight too quickly; it's difficult to tell when a cat is hungry, so I don't know if I'm putting out enough food. I don't want to put her at risk for any disease due to not having enough food/not frequently enough. Should I be feeding her 3 times a day? So far today, I've put out her serving for 30 minutes and let her eat as much of it as she wanted; she ate most of it, then left and came back in 5 minutes to eat more, left and came back for 5 mins again, and finished it up.

Willowy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise