Sneakers escaped this morning

Gwenj

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I’m new to CatSite. Not sure how to word this but I will try. This morning our feral kitty “Sneakers” ran out the door. I trapped her a year ago when she was about 6 months old. She was part of a colony of cats that I feed. She was wild then and 12 months later she is still wild and no matter how much attention and love she has received, she has never warmed to humans and we tried everything. i Have spent the morning recording cat cries of her brother that she adores and always runs to when she hears him crying. I have walked the neighborhood playing these, searched everywhere and called her name over and over. I am heartbroken and wonder if anyone has any advice
That may help me find Sneaks. I’m going to set out a trap although the weather here is not cat friendly, especially according to next week forecast.
I still care for colony.Could she try to reunite with them or has it been too long.? I don’t want to think she would be so afraid she would hole up somewhere and die from starvation or the elements. Thank you for any advice.

Mac and Cats

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Try putting her litterbox outside for awhile and possibly something you normally wear that smells like you. It can help to guide her back home. Even though she may seem like she hasn't warmed to humans, it's possible she has warmed to you in her own way that isn't obvious to you. Good luck! Please keep us updated.

Alldara

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Keep a box by the door for her to hide in. Often they come to the door when no one is out but then must return to their hiding space.

You can also set up a baby monitor or motion camera at the door.

Even if she doesn't like the human aspect, she may still appreciate being indoors with her fur-family and return. ❣ It's okay if she never likes being petted, etc. She might just prefer her animal family members.