Should I bring my cat to college?

Jbstrick

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello! I’ve looked into this a little, but I want a little more insight :)
I’m a freshman in college right now, and since I live in the dorms, I wasn’t able to bring any pets with me to school. However, next school year I am getting an apartment, and have been thinking about bringing my 15 year old cat with me.
Currently, she has never lived anywhere else other than with my parents in our childhood home, but about 5 years ago, we rescued another cat from the street (lol) and they do not get along at all. I also have two young and VERY active dogs that live at home, and while she doesn’t hate them, she is not too fond of being around them at all. Now, instead of roaming the house, my cat only stays on top of the washer/dryer in our laundry room or in the garage. She does not like to leave these areas unless I carry her all the way across the house to my room, and she complains the entire way there and back.
Even though she likes attention from everyone in the house, she’s really my cat. Whenever she sees me from the doorway of the laundry room, she will yell at me until I come pet her, and won’t calm down until I sit on top of the washing machine so she can sit in my lap, which she doesn’t do with anyone else. My mom also works most of the day, my brother has school, and my dad who works from home doesn’t really go into that area of the house much.
My apartment (1x1, 4 rooms) is a 10 minute walk from campus and about a 4 hour drive from home, and I would be driving back home for thanksgiving, winter, and spring break, as well as during the summer. I also visit my girlfriend for a weekend about once a month, and I wouldn’t be able to bring her. (Though with me having an apartment next year, she is able to come visit me and I won’t have to drive there as often). I won’t have any roommates or other animals that would need to be introduced to her, so it would just be the location change.