Semi-feral cat hiding spot quandary

Psyche

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hello all! we finally got our semi-feral inside two weeks ago. After we caught him, we brought in his outdoor house for comfort. It is sitting on top of our dryer. Kubo's safe spot is between this house and the wall.

This means when I come in for socialization time and feeding, he can pretty much withdraw and not even have to look at me. He is eating (somewhat begrudgingly) in front of me, and will kind of slink around me but primarily he camps out in that corner. Obviously it hasn't been that long since he has come into our home and he is an adult, so we expected some intense avoidance and I am not trying to rush him into anything.

My question is: Going forward, is this setup going to be an issue in getting him to interact with me? I don't want to take away his safe spot, but as this is my first time socializing a cat, I'm not sure just how important it is for Kubo to be able to watch me while I'm in his space.

maggie101

3 cats
Top Cat
Purraise
Does he have the option to check out the house then go back to his safe place?

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi. Given what you have set up, he has established his 'safe zone'. So, on that note, let him be. He doesn't need to see you (although, I am sure he will eventually 'peek' even if he is not yet doing so). You need to be able to stay in that area, just so he can hear you - be that reading a book (out loud, but softly) while sitting on the floor, multiple times a day.

Not sure I totally understand the set up that you have, but if it is on the top of the dryer, you might want to bring that down to floor level.